Register   Login
  Browse    Private Lessons    Forum
HomeHomeTeachersTeachersMichael JohnsonMichael JohnsonUnderstanding the harmonic minor scale..Understanding the harmonic minor scale..
Previous

Next
New Post
10/29/2002 6:16 PM

Here's a question I email Michael with a while ago. He asked me to post it :)

My question was about the harmonic minor scale. I know the scale contains a natural 7th,
as opposed to a flatted 7th, as in the aeolian mode(Relative minor).
My question is when is that scale used? Can it somehow fit in where the relative minor is used? I figured
that the natural 7th would be dissonant but perhaps I'm not looking at this right,
I'm self taught theory wise, after all :P
Well, there's the question...thanks.
Jalle

New Post
10/29/2002 8:47 PM

Jalle
That is an excellent question for others to see "when is that scale used?" My answer may surprise you; whenever you hear that it fit in. I know you were asking for a magical formula, but if you are looking to create a gypsy or dark sounding solo you can jump between the Minor (Aeolian) and Harmonic Minor by simply changing the 7th note. The 1, b3 and 5 notes are the main notes of the chord structure, both of the Minor (1, 2, b3, 4, 5, b6, b7) and Harmonic Minor (1, 2, b3, 4, 5, b6, 7) share those main notes, everything else is "color" or creating a "mood". "Modes" are actually considered "moods," that's the beauty of scales! If you hear a direction or sound you would like to create when improvising you have the freedom to make subtle adjustments to the scale formula to create that mood. For instance, you have the option of using other Modes as well in this context to change the sound, try recording a minor rhythm and playing each of the scale over to compare the sounds:

Minor (Aeolian) (1), 2, (b3), 4, (5), b6, b7
Harmonic Minor (1), 2, (b3), 4, (5), b6, 7
Dorian          (1), 2, (b3), 4, (5), 6, b7
Phrygian        (1), b2, (b3), 4, (5), b6, b7