Register   Login
  Browse    Private Lessons    Forum
HomeHomeTeachersTeachersLyle RonglienLyle RonglienBad Habits - Good HabitsBad Habits - Good Habits
Previous

Next
New Post
8/2/2006 5:39 AM

Hello all. This is my first time on this forum. I usually don't participate on these things but RIFFinteractive is so innovative that I felt like contributing.
I've played guitar all my life (I'm 53) Mostly Blues/Rock. I could play with any band, not necessarily great, but I could keep up.
Riff Interactive has blown my mind. I have learned more here in a shorter time than any instructors I have hired through the years. So on to my contribution.

Good habits:
Practice - I play 2 hours a day and that is enough to keep on top of it, but if I did this for a living it wouldn't be enough.
Learn your Fretboard! You should see it in your sleep and know every note by name. It is miserable to learn but compared to a foreign language it is nothing. a few days memorization max.
I saw this before but 1/2 of your time practicing should be scales (say note names in your head). Learn the patterns AND the notes.

Bad habits:
Staying in your comfort zone. If you don't hit a point where you tried to do more than you are capable of, it wasn't a good practice session.
Sticking with only one style. Mix it up.. Broaden your horizons. You will be glad you did.

Jim

New Post
8/24/2006 3:11 AM

I agree Chaulkbuttes that a guitar player should learn all the notes on the fingerboard, but, as you know, for a beginner memorizing all them right away can be overwhelming and may even discourage them.

As a compromise, I would suggest the beginner initially concentrate on the natural notes for the E and A string to start with. This comes in very handy for determining the Major and minor roots to the scales they will use.