Register   Login
  Browse    Private Lessons    Forum
HomeHomeTeachersTeachersLyle RonglienLyle RonglienSoloingSoloing
Previous

Next
New Post
4/20/2003 12:56 AM

I have been practicing soloing in A minor blues and A major blues scales with the last jam track from the last blues rhythm lesson. I was just trying going between these two scales measure to measure. For example I would a phrase in the A minor scale and mirror that phrase in the major scale. I was wondering if this is acceptable. It sounds good to me but I'm a drummer and I'm trying to learn to hear what sounds right. Also, I was wondering if there is a way to know what notes go together when playing multiple notes at the same time in a solo. I can't seem to find notes that work together. Thank you, your lessons are great and I am looking forward to the new blues lead lessons!

Gibson Les Paul Melody Maker|Mexican Made Squier Strat by Fender for Slide|3 Acoustics|Digitech RPX400 Modeling Processor/Effects|2 Marshal Amps
Rob

New Post
4/21/2003 7:16 AM

1. The ONLY thing that matters is if it sounds good. Scales and such are just a guideline. There are no fast rules. If it sounds good, it is good. (Perception is reality.)

2. In re 2 notes, and speaking of scales, try specific intervals within a scales, 4ths, 5ths. In blues it is pretty common to play notes from adjacent strings, for example, if I am playing in the 5th position I might hit the A-D on the 7th fret (4th and 3rd strings).

If that isn't as clear as mud... LOL

Ebony 2002 Gibson Les Paul Standard | Guild F4CE Acoustic | BOSS GT-6 | No Amp!

New Post
4/21/2003 1:42 PM

In many situations, the major and minor pentatonic and blues scales are inter-changable inside a 12 bar blues jam. I will be giving examples of this in tonight's live group lesson (Blues Solo Riffs).

Previous

Next
HomeHomeTeachersTeachersLyle RonglienLyle RonglienSoloingSoloing

Support    About Us    Join the Mailing List    Teachers Wanted