Register   Login
  Browse    Private Lessons    Forum
HomeHomeGeneralGeneralEquipmentEquipmentSmall Hands - Any guitar suggestions?Small Hands - Any guitar suggestions?
Previous

Next
New Post
10/15/2004 12:55 AM

i am a guitar teacher with over 30yrs experience also a solo performer......your fingers should fit the guitar.......and should not be in pain at ALL.....you must get a guitar that fits you....ie scale length....from the teeniest....540mmscale lengths up to
and incl...580..590..610..630.650.660

there are quite a few brands out there on the net...it is ridiculous to ask someone with smaller hands to try and do the same as someone who copes with a full size scale length......you will find that you have to practise good techniques still......but there should be no chord you cannot handle...after practise.....and you should not be in a state of stretch throughout a piece.....i am absolutely stunned at the lack of attention many students are given in this regard.....some folks say....oh yes but he/she has small hands...you cannot tell exactly but looking only...use caliphers and measure and you will see an enormous difference from many people....the more this fact is recognised the more you will find quality guitars available in all the main spheres of guitar playing...folk.jazz.flamenco.classical...rock....

don`t put up with something that you won`t be able to use properly....trailblazer

trailblazer

New Post
2/3/2005 4:21 PM

Hey trailblazer,
you're the first person I've read that puts so much emphasis on a guitar fitting the particular hand, that's good stuff. All this time I thought I had to 'cope' with the constant aches and pains i get from simple extensions of my hands to fit my American Strat.